Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help regarding Gouldian Finches

Assalam o Elaikum,

I am a hobbyist breeder of Zebra Finches and Budgies from Karachi, Now i am looking to keep some Gouldian Finches.
    I keep my birds on my roof in the open, in 8 portion wire cages (mostly) with three sides covered with thick fabric. The place where i keep these cages receives about 2 hours direct sunlight.
    I give my birds very good nutrition (I donot breed for money, so i dont care about expenditures on my birdies).
    The problem is, many of my Zebras die in the cold winter nights. But it is difficult to afford the loss of relatively much expensive Gouldians.

Questions:
    1- Should i keep the Gouldians in the open in Karachi in this season?
    2- How well Gouldians breed?
    3- In which season should i purchase Goulds? Right now, or should i wait for the summer?
    4- In which season i can get gouldians cheaper?
    6- Market price of Gouldians right now?
    7- Please answer the same questions for Singing Canaries too.
    8- Any Tips, Suggestions etc etc.

Looking for the Experts to reply!

Regards!

Re: Help regarding Gouldian Finches

Weather has drastically changed in khi so I'd suggest if u don't have a proper facility postpone purchasing gouldains till Feb

Gouldains r very bad parents n often abandon eggs n chicks so Ul need Society finches as foster parents.parents . If u can get two males as foster parents that would be best

Gouldains come in various colours but personally I like the standard common more although lotino gouldains r also in demand. So for colour choice get a pair which looks pleasant to ur eyes

As regards to canary they r very good n caring parents but very less resale.their r various varieties like Gibber, Taiwan etc each has its own beauty n price.

Once u make up ur mind of keeping a pair plz post post ur query on the forum n inshaAllah Ul be guided .good luck brother